Hello! Some questions for a game- C64

This forum is dedicated to those who want support programming in ugBASIC.
Questo forum è dedicato a chi desidera supporto per programmare in ugBASIC.
Ce forum est dédié à ceux qui souhaitent prendre en charge la programmation en ugBASIC.
avazquez

Hello! Some questions for a game- C64

Post by avazquez »

Hi
I am very excited about the project! I want to support and use it!
So I decided to make a simple game , but have found some issues.

1) No Arctan ? Sorry I am no math expert but how then do we get the angle between two points ?
2) I see FLOAT discussed and in examples, but where are the docs ?
3) How do I make a CHAR with option explicit?
4) Where are CSPRITES documented ?
5) I get "Too many colors" when loading/translating images. I can see why, but where are the docs on conversion conventions?

Thanks for your help
spotlessmind1975
Site Admin

Re: Hello! Some questions for a game- C64

Post by spotlessmind1975 »

Hi avazquez, and welcome to the forum! :D

First of all, I'm very happy that you like the project, and I hope I can answer all your questions in a helpful way!
avazquez wrote: Wed Jun 26, 2024 5:38 am 1) No Arctan ? Sorry I am no math expert but how then do we get the angle between two points ?
In general, therefore not strictly linked to ugBASIC but more to the field of 8-bit computers, the calculations of trigonometric functions (and their inverses) are very burdensome for these processors. It follows that, I repeat in general, one should avoid calculating operations and rely on the fact that the set of possible positions is countable (discrete set) and, therefore, provide approximation mechanisms that do not make use of them.

Unfortunately this is not always possible, so in fact sometimes it is unavoidable to have to use inverse trigonometric functions. I am not there at the moment but I have already entered a ticket for the implementation of the ATAN function soon:
Add support for ATAN instruction #794